Thomas C. Ryan, research assistant, Michigan State University, 334 Food Science Bldg., East Lansing, MI 48823. (Dugan)

Lisbeth E. Rydhag, section manager, B. Pharm., The Swedish Institute for Surface Chemistry, Box 5607, S-114 86, Stockholm, Sweden. (Wilton)

Gregor J. Schuster, chemical engineer, Chem. Fabrik Grunan Illertissen, 1-Robert Hansenstrasse, Illertissen, W. Germany D-7918. (Hesser)

Alex Sevanian, assistant research biochemist/pediatrician, UCLA School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics/Nuclear Medicine, Center for Health Sciences, Los Angeles, CA 90024. (Mead)

Devaki A. Shankar, chemist, Ben Hwa New Industries Pte., Ltd., 12, Jalan Besut., Singapore 2261.

Mohammad S. Sheikh, factory manager, United Foods Ltd., PO Box 5503, Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Garcia L. Silva, gerente general, Oleaginosas de Occidente, S.A., 2052 Sabino Col. del Fresno, Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico. (Khym & Erickson)

David S. Smith, student, Food Science Department, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ 08903. (Ho)

Sang L. Son, student, Food Science Department, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ 08903. (Ho) Raja I. Tannous, chairman, Department of Food Science and Nutrition, American University of Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon.

Keith A. Thompson, senior quality assurance chemist, Sherex Chemical Co., PO Box 646, Dublin, OH 43017. (Walker)

Robert W. Trenkle, student, Food Science Department, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ 08903. (Ho)

Alison B. Warren, student, Food Science Department, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ 08903. (Ho) Jye Wen, student, Ohio State University, 122 Vivian Hall, 2121 Fyffe Rd., Columbus, OH 43810. (Min)

Barbara G. Williams, commercial development & technical service representative, 365 Evans Ave., Toronto, Ontario, Canada, M8Z 1K2.

Richard E. Willits, director, Cheese Division Research, Universal Foods, Inc., 6143 N. 60th St., Milwaukee, WI 53201

Henry K. Wren, vice president, R&D, Faribo Industries, 2989 N.W. 1st Ave., Faribault, MN 55021.

James W. Wu, student, Food Science Department, Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ 08903. (Ho) Richard A. Zavada, marketing manager, Dravo Corporation, 1 Oliver Plaza, Pittsburgh, PA 15222. (Coombes)

Inside AOCS.

Proposed GPO policy opposed

The AOCS Governing Board has agreed to oppose a U.S. House of Representatives bill that would require papers prepared by federally employed scientists to be published initially by the U.S. Government Printing Office.

The provision is part of a general reorganization proposal for the GPO.

Governing Board members noted that reputable scientific publications would not reprint the scientists' papers and that the information would be less available to the scientific community.

The Governing Board asked President N.O.V. Sonntag and Executive Director James Lyon to mail a letter stating AOCS' position to appropriate members of the House of Representatives. The bill in question is House Resolution 5424, scheduled for committee mark-up in January.

In other action during its November meeting in Chicago, the Governing Board approved appointment of Jess Covey of Anderson Clayton Foods', Clayton Research Center in Richardson, Texas, to be general chairman for the 1984 national meeting to be held in Dallas. The board also voted to have the AOCS National Program Planning Committee have responsibility for developing the technical program for the meeting. The NPPC will operate with a technical program chairman, but the chairman need not be a person from the Dallas area.

The board also received a letter from the USDA's Science and Education Administration requesting AOCS participation in determining priority research programs for SEA. Sonntag, Frank White and E.G. Perkins were named as an ad hoc committee to participate.

The board also approved AOCS' becoming a sustaining

member of the American National Standards Institute, with David Firestone as AOCS liaison. The value of membership is to be evaluated after one year. The board also agreed to include information from the Association of Official Analytical Chemists (AOAC) in one AOCS mailing.

Revised by-laws for the AOCS Foundation were approved to include an honorary board of not less than five persons and an action board of not more than six persons. The honorary board will recommend policy; the action board will direct activities and manage funds for the foundation.

Applications for certification or recertification in the AOCS Referee Chemist program must be returned to AOCS Headquarters, 508 S. Sixth St., Champaign, IL 61820, by no later than March 28, 1980, or the applicant will be ineligible to be listed in the 1980-81 official list of Referee Chemists.

Recertification notices are being mailed to last year's participants. New applicants should write to AOCS Headquarters and request application forms. Recertification application fee is \$10; new applicant fee is \$30.

Referee Chemist deadline is March 28, 1980